Sibelius Violin Concerto

Mathilde Milwidsky

Saturday 18 June, 7:30 pm
Oxford Town Hall

Berlioz Royal Hunt and Storm from The Trojans
Sibelius Violin Concerto
Debussy Prélude à 'L'après-midi d'un faune'
Strauss Symphonic Fantasy on Die Frau ohne Schatten

Mathilde Milwidsky violin
Robert Max conductor

The lyrical and technically brilliant Violin Concerto by Sibelius is one of the greatest in the repertoire and violin maestro Maxim Vengerov describes our young soloist Mathilde Milwidsky as 'an exceptional talent'.

Debussy's Prélude is an extraordinary evocation of a sultry summer afternoon and Berlioz's Royal Hunt and Storm is a vivid and exciting representation of a sylvan scene from his opera, The Trojans.

Richard Strauss composed some of the most richly melodious music of all time and in the Symphonic Fantasy based on his opera Die Frau ohne Schatten he revisited some of its most ravishing moments.