Dvořák Symphony No.7

Magdalene Ho

Saturday 17 March, 7:30 pm
Oxford Town Hall

Stravinsky Symphony in Three Movements
Mendelssohn Piano Concerto No.1
Dvořák Symphony No.7

Magdalene Ho piano
Robert Max conductor

Dvořák's seventh symphony is often said to be his finest and also to be one of the most glorious of all symphonies, richly melodic and a work of depth and passion.

Mendelssohn's First Piano Concerto is virtuosic and sparkles with brilliance and lyricism. Our soloist is the highly talented young pianist Magdalene Ho.

Stravinsky composed his Symphony in Three movements in 1942-45, after emigrating to the USA. He said it had links in his imagination with cinematographic images of war and the music itself has echoes of his ballet score The Rite of Spring.

Tickets: £16, Over 60s £14, Accompanied under 16s FREE
Students aged 16-25 and those in receipt of benefits £5
from Tickets Oxford at Oxford Playhouse 01865 305305
Book on line

Oxford Town Hall 'a Victorian Gem, good for concerts' (Trip Advisor)
Google map and directions

Licensed bar before the concert and during the interval