Tchaikovsky, Strauss & Szymanowski

Maria Włoszczowska picture

Saturday 16 November, 7:30 pm
Oxford Town Hall

Tchaikovsky Romeo and Juliet
Szymanowski Violin Concerto no.1
Strauss Death and Transfiguration

Maria Włoszczowska violin
Robert Max conductor

Tchaikovsky’s passionate Fantasy Overture is based on Shakespeare’s tale of ill-fated young lovers and Strauss's graphic tone poem closes the evening with music of the most ravishing and ecstatic beauty.

Polish violinist Maria Włoszczowska performs worldwide as a soloist and chamber musician and the poetic concerto, composed by her compatriot Karol Szymanowski in 1916, is rhapsodic and spell-binding.

Tickets: £16, Over 60s £14, Accompanied under 16s FREE
Students aged 16-25 and those in receipt of benefits £5
from Tickets Oxford at Oxford Playhouse 01865 305305
Book on line

Oxford Town Hall 'a Victorian Gem, good for concerts' (Trip Advisor)
Google map and directions

Licensed bar before the concert and during the interval